TBLA Awards

Nominations for the TBLA Service Awards and the James L. Murray Memorial Award can be submitted via email to the Public Service Awards Committee at library@tbla.ca at least one month prior to the Annual General Meeting, which is usually held in March each year.

At the AGM in March 2019, Ross Murray, Q.C. was awarded Honourary Lifetime Membership.  In 2018, Honourary Lifetime Memberships Awards were granted to Ken Whent, Q.C.; Allan G. McKitrick, Q.C.; and Kris Knutsen, Q.C.  These members all reflect the ideal of devoted and meritorious service to the association, the profession and the public, as well as being long-standing members in the Law Society of Ontario.


TBLA Service Awards

The awards are for members, whether Lawyers, Justices or Crown Attorneys, and are meant to recognize service. There are two awards. The criteria are as follows:

Award 1 – Service to Community

“A member who has performed work over a number of years, above and beyond usual or normal expectations or standards, all for the benefit of the citizens of Thunder Bay.”

Award 2 – Service to Profession

“A member, who has performed work, over a number of years, above and beyond usual or normal expectations or standards, all for the benefit of the members of the Thunder Bay Law Association.”


Through the presentation of these awards the Directors of the Association, on behalf of all members of the Association, wish to recognize members who have made significant contributions.  At the June 2020 AGM, the 2019 award for service to the community was presented to Kimberley Gagnon for her volunteer work and leadership with Kairos Community Centre, Autism Ontario, Community & Child Resources, as well her work in establishing the student legal clinic at Bora Laskin Faculty of Law. The 2019 award for service to the profession was presented to George Joseph who has been a tireless representative for the Northwest at the Ontario Bar Association, an active member of the TBLA Board and a lawyer who practices with highest professional standards of the legal profession.  Congratulations   to all the deserving candidates for these awards!


James L.  Murray Memorial Award

This award was established at the Board meeting of April 13, 2018 to honour the memory of Mr. Jim (James) Murray, who passed away suddenly in January 2018.  He was an outstanding advocate and long-time member of the local bar.  Nominations for this award are reviewed by the Public Service Awards Committee with the following criteria considered:

“Awarded to a member of the TBLA that displays the highest standards of ethics, professionalism, and civility in his/her practice as an advocate.”


At the March 27, 2019 AGM the first recipient of this award, Jack Jamieson, was presented with the 2018 award. Mr. Jamieson definitely displays all the highest qualities of professionalism, ethics, and civility in his practice of law and is the perfect first recipient of this award.  Mr. James Wilcox, the second recipient of this award, received in his nomination high praise for his exemplary professionalism in his dealings with clients, lawyers and the courts. We extend our hearty congratulations to all nominees and recipients of this award!  

2018 – Jack Jamieson, Carrel + Partners
2019 – James Wilcox, Legal Aid Ontario



TBLA Service Awards Past Recipients

James L. Murray Memorial Award Past Recipients